ASTM Subcommittee on Toy Safety Receives CPSC Chairman’s Circle Award

ASTM Subcommittee on Toy Safety Receives CPSC Chairman’s Circle Award

(L-R) Autumn Moore, TIA, Rick Rosati, Bureau Veritas, Nancy MacPherson, LEGO Systems, Inc, Frank Olbrych, Hasbro, Chairman Inez Tenenbaum, CPSC, Joan Lawrence, TIA/F15.22 Chair, Don Mays, Deloitte, Len Morrissey, ASTM International, Joel Taft, Fisher Price

September 26, 2013 | On September 25th, the ASTM F15.22 Subcommittee on Toy Safety was awarded the 3rd annual Chairman’s Circle of Commendation Award by the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC). The Subcommittee on Toy Safety was among five recipients of the prestigious award, each chosen for their significant, lifesaving contributions to consumer product safety in the U.S. and around the world. The awards ceremony was held at CPSC headquarters in Bethesda, MD.

“It is my honor to recognize these selfless, dedicated individuals and high-achieving standards setting organizations,” stated CPSC Chairman Inez Tenenbaum in a press release. “Their research, advocacy and commitment to advancing the cause of consumer protection have resulted in safer homes, both nationally and internationally. The lives they have saved are untold.”

Added Tenenbaum about ASTM F15.22 specifically: “For 30 years, this group of men and women, from a variety of disciplines, has developed and shepherded the comprehensive toy safety requirements found in ASTM F963—Consumer Safety Specification for Toy Safety. This is one of the best toy standards in the world.”

The ASTM F15.22 Subcommittee on Toy Safety was recognized for its development of the toy safety requirements found in ASTM F963, which includes requirements addressing mechanical and physical properties in toys for children younger than 14; electrical, flammability and toxicological hazards; labeling requirements; and more than 100 tests for toy safety.  Previously a voluntary standard, ASTM F963 became federal law under the Consumer Product Safety Improvement Act (CPSIA) of 2008. Its requirements have been emulated in other countries and for other product categories. 

F15.22 was the first to address the suffocation hazards posed by cup-shaped toys, as well as hazards posed by toys with spherical ends, jaw-entrapment toys, and many more. The Subcommittee also spearheaded efforts to proactively address certain toy safety specifications. For example, it developed requirements to ensure that small batteries in toys are inaccessible to children nearly two decades before the issue of accidental ingestion was raised by national media in 2011. And in 2006, F15.22 introduced requirements to make small, rare-earth magnets inaccessible to kids. In doing so, the Subcommittee raised global awareness about the risk of ingestion – before that risk was even known among the medical community.

ASTM Subcommittee on Toy Safety Receives CPSC Chairman’s Circle Award

(L-R) Dr. Toby Litovitz, Dr. Joshua Sharfstein, Chairman Inez Tenenbaum, Carol Pollack-Nelson, Ph.D, Joan Lawrence, TIA/F15.22 chair.

“On behalf of every member of the ASTM F15.22 Subcommittee on Toy Safety, I would like to extend my thanks to Chairman Tenenbaum for this tremendous acknowledgement,” said Joan Lawrence, F15.22 chairman and vice president of standards and government affairs for the Toy Industry Association (TIA). “The 285 dedicated safety professionals who serve on the Subcommittee have worked countless hours alongside their ‘day’ jobs to ensure the development and maintenance of standards that keep young children safe at play. It is a great honor to stand among today’s award recipients and celebrate the good work being done to ensure product safety across the nation and around the world.”

F15.22 is part of ASTM International, which is a globally-recognized leader in the development and delivery of international voluntary consensus standards. About 12,000 ASTM standards are used around the world to improve product quality, enhance safety, provide market access and trade, and build consumer confidence.

The Chairman’s Commendation Award was created by Chairman Inez Tenenbaum in 2011 to identify and honor people, organizations, businesses, state and local governments and other groups who have worked to reduce deaths, prevent injuries and improve consumer product safety. Additional information about each of the award recipients announced this week can be found in the CPSC press release.