CPSC Staff Vacancies for Chairman and Republican Commissioner

October 29, 2013 | Transitions are currently underway at the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC). Nancy Nord wrapped up her eight-year tenure as Commissioner last week (October 26th) and Chairman Inez Tenenbaum will begin a new position at Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough LLP on December 1st, where she will work with the law firm’s product safety, risk prevention and regulatory practice group.

Commissioner Nord began her tenure with the CPSC as Commissioner in April 2005 and served as Acting Chairman from July 2006 through May 2009. Her priorities as Commissioner included increasing the effectiveness of product safety recalls and the importance of corporate compliance programs; while serving as Acting Chairman, she led the agency as it expanded its efforts to address import safety.

Chairman Tenenbaum was nominated by President Obama in June 2009 to serve as the ninth Chairman of the CPSC. During her tenure, she improved the agency’s transparency and accessibility; prioritized education and advocacy; enforced federal safety laws; and focused on injury prevention. She also created a new Office of Education, Global Outreach and Small Business Ombudsman and strengthened the CPSC’s relationship with U.S. Customs and Border Protection to help detect and detain a greater number of potentially dangerous products at the ports.

The departures of Tenenbaum and Nord will create vacancies for the Chairman and a Republican Commissioner seat; replacements for these positions have not yet been announced by President Obama. Continuing with the agency are Commissioners Robert Adler, Ann Marie Buerkle, and Marietta Robinson.

The Toy Industry Association (TIA) will continue to monitor this topic and keep members apprised of any developments.