Slate of Candidates Announced for TIA Board of Directors

December 10, 2013 | The Toy Industry Association’s (TIA) Nominating Committee has submitted the following candidates for consideration by the membership and election to the Association’s Board of Directors for a two-year term expiring at the annual meeting in 2016: 

  • Drew Brazer
    Vice President of Sales, North America
    LEGO Systems, Inc.
  • D. Hugo Malan
    Senior Vice President and President of Sporting Goods
    Sears Holding Corporation

  • William To
    VTech Electronics North America LLC

The proposed Board members will be filling the seats of retiring Board members Jay Foreman, President and CEO of The Bridge Direct/Acorn Management Group, and George Irwin, Toycoon of IToys USA, Ltd. and one seat that became open in accordance with Article 6.2 of the TIA By-Laws.

Additional nominations for full-term Directors may be made in writing, signed by no less than 10% of the membership of the Association, and submitted to the President no later than Friday, January 17, 2014 (at least 30 days before the Annual Meeting).

Members of the TIA Board under consideration for re-election for a subsequent (third) term include Andrea Barthello, Chairman and Founder of ThinkFun, Inc.; William Beebe, Managing Director of Playmates Toys, Inc.; Sam Harwell, CEO of Big Time Toys, LLC; Shirley Price, President and COO of Funrise Toy Corporation; and Robert Wann, CEO of Patch Products.  Jeffrey Kennis, President of Enchanted Moments, Inc. will be considered for election for a subsequent (second) term.

The election of new Board members will occur during the TIA Annual Business Meeting that will convene at 8 a.m. on Tuesday, February 18, 2014, in Room 1E19 of the Jacob K. Javits Convention Center.  Held in conjunction with the American International Toy Fair, the one-hour meeting will also include reports from the Chairman, President and Secretary/Treasurer, and other such matters as may regularly be brought before the membership.

The meeting is open to all stakeholders of the toy industry – both members and non-members.  TIA members will be contacted in early 2014 with an invitation to respond with a proxy should they be unable to attend.

Questions concerning the Board elections or the Annual Meeting can be directed to the office of TIA President Carter Keithley (tel: 212.675.1141 ext. 4841; fax: 212.807.1854).