Testing Laboratories

This directory lists TIA member testing labs that provide service to the toy industry; it includes contact information and testing capabilities as provided by the listed organization.

WHAT IS A TESTING LABORATORY?

To assist in the verification of compliance to the industry’s toy rigorous safety standards, toy companies rely on independent laboratories to conduct a wide range of tests for everything from small parts to how the toy is expected to be used (or misused).  The labs consider how a toy may be dropped and thrown, pushed and pulled, twisted and bent, and more.  They will perform test on paints and stains, liquids, paste, powders, putties and gels to make sure that toys are not dangerous or pose a risk of irritating children's skin, eyes, or mouth.  Toys will also be tested to ensure that they don't overheat or have parts that wear out or release.  These tests are conducted on random samples pulled during the manufacturing process and may be repeated again on samples pulled from warehouses where finished toys are stored before being shipped to stores. 

 
 

AsiaInspection Group
Ms. Lisa Maxwell
4455 Genesee St Ste 6
Buffalo, NY 14225-1955
United States
(716) 635-1180
LMaxwell@ansecogroup.com
www.ansecogroup.com

 
 

Bureau Veritas Consumer Products Services
Mr. Richard Rosati
100 Northpointe Parkway
Buffalo, NY 14228-1884
United States
(716) 505-3472
richard.rosati@us.bureauveritas.com
www.bureauveritas.com

 
 

CMA Testing and Certification Laboratories
Mr. Thomas Harney
22 Norton Road
Broad Brook, CT O6O16
United States
(860) 810-6406
thomash@cmatcl.com
www.cmatcl.com

 
 

DEKRA North America
Mr. Joel Pekay
3901 Roswell Road
Suite 120
Marietta, GA 30062
United States
(470)295-6777
Joel.Pekay@dekra.com

 
 

Hong Kong Standards & Testing Centre Ltd.
Mr. Keith Yung
10 Dai Wang Street
Tai Po Industrial Estate
Tai Po,, N.T. Hong Kong
011-852-2666-1896
keith_yung@hkstc.org
www.stc-group.org

 
 

Hong Kong Standards Testing Ctr-USA STC-GROUP USA
Mr. Norman Aronowitz
P.O. Box 203
Park Ridge, NJ 07656
United States
(201) 391-4727
norman_aronowitz@hkstc.org
www.stc-group.org

 
 

HQTS QA International Services Co., Ltd.

Taineng Industrial District, Sandun
Science & Technology Zone
Hangzhou, 310030
China
86 571 88907020
www.qainternational.com

 
 

Intertek
Mr. John A. Luzzi
545 East Algonquin Road
Suite F
Arlington Heights, IL 60005
United States
(732) 394-5370
john.luzzi@intertek.com
www.intertek.com

 
 

Mutual Cornell
Mr. James Troiano
136 Corliss St
Providence, RI 02904
United States
(401) 274-9998
jtroiano@mutualcornell.com

 
 

SGS North America, Inc.
Mr. Piyush Shah
291 Fairfield Avenue
Fairfield, NJ 07004-3833
United States
(973) 461-7953
piyush_shah@sgs.com
www.us.sgs.com

 
 

TUV Rheinland of North America
Ms. Haley Sprague
2709 South East Otis Corley Drive
Suite 11
Bentonville, AR 72712
United States
(479) 250-0059
hsprague@us.tuv.com
www.tuv.com

 
 

UL
Ms. Susan DeRagon
85 John Road
Canton, MA 02021
United States
(860) 835-2037
Susan.E.DeRagon@ul.com
www.ul.com