Looking Back at TOTY

2013 TOTY Awards Ceremony

Hundreds of toy executives and guests from around the world gathered in New York City this evening to honor the year’s top toys and industry icons at the 13th annual Toy of the Year (TOTY) Awards and Toy Industry Hall of Fame induction ceremony.

A Toy Industry Association (TIA)-administered event in support of the Toy Industry Foundation (TIF), the “Oscars” of the toy industry took place at the Plaza Hotel, kicking off the 110th American International Toy Fair. Throughout the evening, TOTY Awards were presented across 12 categories – from e-Connected and Innovative to Educational and Outdoor.

In addition, the overall “Toy of the Year” award was presented to LEGO Friends (The Lego Group), while LeapPad2 (LeapFrog Enterprises, Inc.) received the inaugural “People’s Choice” award. 

Interspersed with the presentation of the TOTY Awards were two inductions into the Toy Industry Hall of Fame: Judith (Judy) Ellis, Chair of the Toy Design Department at the Fashion Institute of Technology, and the late Russell (Russ) Berrie, Founder of Russ Berrie Inc. The new inductees join a distinguished roster of 59 other luminaries who have been inducted into the Hall since its establishment in 1985.

November 2012 Press Event

On November 19, 2012, TIA kicked off the holiday shopping season by announcing the 84 finalists for the prestigious 2013 Toy of the Year Awards (TOTY). Watch photos from the press event and then vote for your favorites at ToyAwards.org.

2012 TOTY Awards Ceremony

More than five hundred toy industry executives and guests from around the globe gathered to honor their peers at the 12th Toy of the Year (TOTY) Awards program and Hall of Fame induction ceremony on February 11, 2012 at Alice Tully Hall in Lincoln Center. 

Established in 1984, the Hall of Fame honors individuals who have made a significant mark on the toy industry. Joining the more than 55 people already on the distinguished roster are Arnie Rubin, Founder and CEO of Funrise Toy, and the late Frederick August Otto Schwarz, founder of FAO Schwarz. 

LeapPad™ Explorer by LeapFrog Enterprises, Inc. received the coveted “Toy of the Year” title and was awarded Educational Toy of the Year and Preschool Toy of the Year. The awards program included 77 finalists across the 11 categories. View all the finalists and winners.

November 2011 Press Event

On November 21st, TIA unveiled the 77 nominees for the 2012 Toy of the Year (TOTY) Awards. Watch photos from the press conference.