Testing Laboratories

This directory lists TIA member testing labs* that provide service to the toy industry; it includes contact information and testing capabilities as provided by the listed organization.

WHAT IS A TESTING LABORATORY?

To assist in the verification of compliance to the industry’s toy rigorous safety standards, toy companies rely on independent laboratories to conduct a wide range of tests for everything from small parts to how the toy is expected to be used (or misused).  The labs consider how a toy may be dropped and thrown, pushed and pulled, twisted and bent, and more.  They will perform test on paints and stains, liquids, paste, powders, putties and gels to make sure that toys are not dangerous or pose a risk of irritating children's skin, eyes, or mouth.  Toys will also be tested to ensure that they don't overheat or have parts that wear out or release.  These tests are conducted on random samples pulled during the manufacturing process and may be repeated again on samples pulled from warehouses where finished toys are stored before being shipped to stores. 

*NOTE:  This directory does not represent a recommendation from TIA of the organizations listed, nor is TIA responsible for the quality of work performed by these organizations. Information shown was provided by each listed organization and has not been verified by TIA.

Comments or feedback?  Please send an e-mail to info@toyassociation.org.

 
 

Bureau Veritas Consumer Products Services
Mr. Richard Rosati
100 Northpointe Parkway
Buffalo, NY 14228-1884
United States
(716) 505-3472
richard.rosati@us.bureauveritas.com
www.bureauveritas.com

 
 

CMA Testing and Certification Laboratories
Mr. Thomas Harney
1559 King St
Enfield, CT 06082-5844
United States
(860) 810-6406
thomash@cmatcl.com
www.cmatcl.com

 
 

CTI - Centre Testing International Corp.
Ms. Julia Zhang
Building C, Hongwei Industrial Park,
Block 70
Shenzhen, Guangdong, China
86-755-33683916
julia.zhang@cti-cert.com
www.cti-cert.com/en/

 
 

Helmsman Quality & Technology Services
Mr. Jeff Singleton
2612 S Wildwind Circle
The Woodlands, TX 77380
United States
(212) 757-2400
jeff.singleton@gmail.com
www.hqts.com

 
 

Hong Kong Standards & Testing Centre Ltd.
Mr. Keith Yung
10 Dai Wang Street
Tai Po Industrial Estate
Tai Po,, N.T. Hong Kong
011-852-2666-1896
keith_yung@hkstc.org
www.stc-group.org

 
 

Hong Kong Standards Testing Ctr-USA
Mr. Norman Aronowitz
P.O. Box 203
Park Ridge, NJ 07656
United States
(201) 391-7066
norman.aronowitz@hkstc.org
www.stc-group.org

 
 

Intertek
Mr. John A. Luzzi
545 East Algonquin Road
Suite F
Arlington Heights, IL 60005
United States
(732) 394-5370
john.luzzi@intertek.com
www.intertek.com

 
 

SGS North America, Inc.
Mr. Piyush Shah
291 Fairfield Avenue
Fairfield, NJ 07004-3833
United States
(973) 461-7953
piyush_shah@sgs.com
www.us.sgs.com

 
 

TUV Rheinland of North America
Ms. Tina M. Blazer (Goerss)
2709 SE Otis Corley Drive
Suite 11
Bentonville, AR 72712
United States
(858) 433-0197
tblazer@us.tuv.com
www.tuv.com

 
 

UL
Ms. Susan DeRagon
1559 King Street
Enfield, CT 06082-4814
United States
(860) 749-8371
susan.deragon@strquality.com
www.strquality.com